Posted in Marathon

New shoes and marathon training plan

There’s nothing like new shoes to breathe life into your training.  Meet the new girls:

Mizuno Wave Inspire 9: blue.
Mizuno Wave Inspire 9: blue.

Mizuno Wave Inspire 9: $115 from Marathon Sports, Cambridge, MA.

In contrast to my old pair (Mizuno Wave Precision 13) these are more … blue.  More technically, the new shoes have some different features on the sole – they certainly feel a bit different to wear; I most notice it as different pressure points on my sole.  Hopefully this is a Good Thing.

Wave Precision 13 on the left, Wave Inspire 9 on the right.
Wave Precision 13 on the left, Wave Inspire 9 on the right.

Also I’ve gone half a size up (8.5!) for some reason – but let’s face it, more space in the toe can’t be a bad thing.  I did try on a pair of Brooks and they were really nice too, but there was something strange going on at the front (it felt like the shoe stopped before my toes did?).  So I decided to stick with what I know.

Training Plan

My training plan for the Marathon in October is the Hal Higdon Novice 2 plan.  The equivalent half-marathon plan worked for me so again, I’m sticking with what I know.  (PS sticking with what I know is highly unusual for me in general).  Tomorrow I finish week 6 (of 18) and it’s going pretty well so far:

week6_progress
T = treadmill, J = run with husband, I = injury. The numbers are my average pace.

I’ve skipped a 3 mile run this week because my left arch is giving me trouble, but I’m going to go out tomorrow for 9 miles.  I also haven’t done any cross training. Is that bad?

The weather has been disgusting recently (warning: normal East Coast USA whinge about humidity follows): when you come home from a run when it was “only” 78F, stand under the A/C vent for 10 minutes and you’re still dripping with sweat afterwards, you are entitled to think it’s a bit warm for running. Just saying.

While we’re talking about the heat can I just point something out regarding running etiquette?  Boys, I’m looking at you: personally, when I pass someone who is going slower than me I do a 10 second pick-up to dash past them and get well in front.  On my last long run (74F and 78% humidity), on several occasions, men, mostly of a certain age, came slowly puffing past me, basically rubbing elbows with me, flicking great globs of sweat and snot in my direction.  DISGUSTING, BOYS.   Please leave a wide birth when passing, and, get on with it!

On Thursday I ran in the rain, and it was great: aside from getting soaked and my ponytail looking like a rats nest by the end, obviously.  Pace of 8.41 over 6 miles.

Speaking of pace, I should mention my goal(s) for the marathon:

1. get to the start line (i.e. don’t get injured in training), and

2. finish in 4hrs or less.

The other day I read about this website which, I’m sure among many other things, tells you your likely finish times for different distances based on a previous race time.  So I put in my half-marathon time and discovered it predicts a 4:07 marathon for me.

From McMillan Running Calculator
From McMillan Running Calculator – click to make bigger!

So I have some work to do. Luckily I have my Sweaty Band to help me go faster.  And of course, new shoes.  Which I’ve just realized are in Boston colors.  Duh.

Sweaty Band keeping Boston Strong.
Sweaty Bands keeping Boston Strong.

See you out there!

5 thoughts on “New shoes and marathon training plan

  1. Nice shoes and training plan. For your arch, try freezing a small bottle of water and use it as a roller on the bottom of your foot. It also works well on the calf too. Good luck!

    1. How interesting! I wonder if running changes your feet? I guess it does.

      I tried the water bottle when I got home today and it was great — perhaps I can put a tennis ball in the freezer too? 🙂 The cold was really nice.

      1. I believe a golf ball does the job well too, I’ve heard you can freeze it too! I think it works by reducing inflammation.

Thoughts? Leave a Reply

