An interaction in the ESL classroom

Blogging about my students is probably not a good idea.  I mean, they’re adults and everything, but in my view the English-language classroom ought to be a sanctuary where mistakes can be made without fear. However, I wonder if it’s ok to share a short interaction from today:

Student:  “The concert starts at 1 o’clock.”

Me: “1 o’clock in the morning or in the afternoon?”

Student:  “What is ‘afternoon’?  Is it after, er, noon?  Aaaaaaahhhhh afternoon!”

I just love to see the light bulb go off 🙂

 

Meanwhile, in half-marathon related news – it looks like Sunday morning 7am might be raining and 47F (8C).  Awesome. I think not.

One thought on “An interaction in the ESL classroom

Thoughts? Leave a Reply

