Posted in Half-marathon, Resolutions

Half training – Week 4: Wednesday/Good Friday

An eclectic post today – training update; March sunrise and hot cross buns!

Training

Wednesday: As promised, I did 6.6km in 37:56 for a pace of 5:46… took it a bit easy but I’m not used to running consecutive days so I didn’t want to push it!

Friday: 5.1km in 30.22 at a pace of 5.55.  Gearing up for a 7 mile (11.3km) group run tomorrow morning!

Also: crocuses! (yes, hopeless picture I know – I was using my old old phone).

First spring crocuses.
First spring crocuses.

March Sunrise

I realised nearly too late I hadn’t seen the sunrise this month (as per 2013 Resolutions), so I set my alarm for 6.30am and got up to see this:

Sunrise for March - 6.40am.
Sunrise for March – 6.40am.

Good Friday

So I’ve come to discover that in the US they don’t really celebrate Easter like in the UK or Australia.  There are plenty of Easter eggs/chocolate to be sure, and plenty of religious things going on… but no public holidays on Friday or Monday and no hot cross buns!  This is a problem.

However, there is a “chic” (i.e. overpriced but REALLY good) deli type place in Cambridge called Formaggio Kitchen where I managed to find these ($2.50 each!):

Hot Cross Buns... made with icing?
Hot Cross Buns… made with icing?

They don’t look or feel as they should exactly…but I’m not going to complain! We’ll try them tomorrow.

~~

Do you know of anywhere that sells real Hot Cross Buns in Boston?

Thoughts? Leave a Reply

