Posted in Australia, Travel

Australia trip – summary part 1

Australia is the singular most amazing place in the world (I’m quite biased).  We were lucky enough to go there earlier this month for three weeks.  Here’s what happened.

We flew American Airlines from Boston to LAX, transited in the lovely new shiny part of the Tom Bradley terminal – which was sadly lacking shops, but did have free WiFi – to a Qantas A380 for a 15hr+ flight to Melbourne.  Oh boy was I glad to get off that plane.

We spent a fantastic long weekend in Melbourne with family enjoying the warm weather, the beautiful sunshine and great food.  I went for a couple of runs, including my fastest 10km ever (58.30 for a pace of 5:50).

Melbourne - Carlton somewhere.
Melbourne – Carlton somewhere.
Melbourne - Footscray Park.
Melbourne – Footscray Park.

Then I flew (Qantas again) to my most favourite city in the whole world – Brisbane, Queensland.

Brisbane just smells like Frangipani to me.
Brisbane just smells like Frangipani to me.

I stayed with my fabulous best friend Chantal and we hung out, doing things like going for coffee, running and having dinner at Popolo on Southbank.

Brisbane - proper coffee in West End.
Brisbane – proper coffee in West End.
Gotta love the Australian sense of humour.
Gotta love the Australian sense of humour.
View from our table at Popolo's.
View from our table at Popolo’s.

Then we were off to Sydney!

More on that in Part 2 🙂

Thoughts? Leave a Reply

